Independent Presbyterian Church
Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Church Officers

The Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

"The session of a particular church consists of the pastor or co-pastors, the associate pastors, and the elders in active service... the session is responsible for the mission and government of the particular church."   Book of Order The Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) Part II  


Independent Presbyterian Church
  Class of 2013
Elizabeth Shealy "Beth" Adams
James Houston Cook
John Lee Edwards
Francis Kathryn Fendley "Fran" Fendley
Frances Kay Grisham
Charles Louie "Chip" Grizzle
George Ernest "Bud" Keller III
Frank Quarles Lassiter
Verna Larson Lyons
George W. "Buzzy" Matthews
Caryl Penney Privett
Michael Clay "Mike" Quillen
Fairy Jinks Sutherland
John Thomas Hunter Williams
   Class of 2014
Joseph Sanborn "Sandy" Bean, Jr.
Frank Ewell "Rusty" Boyd III
Melissa Farris Brisendine
James Wade "Jim" Brunstad
Kathryn Lane Burns
Karen Smith Chapman
Ann Brock Hillhouse
Larry Steven Hunt
Neal Spence Hutchinson
John B. Johnson
Margaret Kay Stammer Kelly
Virginia McGinnis "Gina" Long
Thomas Morris  "Tom" Spencer
Ellen Brittain Williams  
  Class of 2015
Garnett Brasfield Baker
James Frederick Barger, Jr.
Diane Waitzman Beck
Glen Larry Brawley
Margaret M. Chesnut
David Barrett DeLozier, Sr.
Roger Alan Hartline
Andrew Spencer Hicks
Elizabeth Ennis Hillhouse
Thomas Alex Luttrell
Susan Waller Nading
Charles Wade Robinett
Jean S. Shanks
Kennon Dale Walthall
Youth Elder:
(2 yr. term) Camden Grae "Cammie" Coulter
 2013 Session’s Standing Committees and Chairmen
Children's Fresh Air Farm - Jean Shanks
Christian Education - Bud Keller
Church Governing Bodies - Frank Lassiter
Communications  - Melissa Brisendine
Congregational Care - Kay Kelly
Community Ministries - Mike Quillen
Coordinating - Lyda White
Day School - Kathryn Burns
Finance -  Houston Cook
Fine Arts - Caryl Privett
House and Properties - Hunter Williams
Music - Janet Ort
New Member Outreach  -
Personnel - Robert Pless
Stewardship - Beth Adams
Strategic Planning Focus - Kennon Walthall
Worship - Verna Lyons 
Clerk of Session:     Mike Quillen  (2013)
                                         Gina Long  (2014)
                                         Margaret Chesnut  (2015)
Moderator:  Conrad Sharps
 Click here  for 2013 Session Committees and members listing 
Independent Presbyterian Church
"The office of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of sympathy, witness, and service after the example of Jesus Christ."
Book of Order The Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) Part II
   Class of 2013
Thomas Jefferson "Tom" Adams, Jr. 
James Robert "Jim" Baker
Burch Elizabeth Barger
Robert S. "Bob" Clayton, Jr. 
Harriet Kennedy Cochrane
Susan Jane Cooper
Phillip James "Phil" Demyan
Susan Watkins Dulin
Susan Nash Gilpin
Mayree Veona "Sissy" Hembree
Langston Stabler Hereford
Andrew McNeill Lewis
Lawrence Winstead "Larry" Moore
Lynne O'Rorke Simmons
Sumner Timberlake Starling
Robert Ross "Bob" Straka
Jimmy Smith "Jim" Willingham
  Class of 2014
Eloise Johns Bennett   (22)
Joseph Erik Busby
Maria Bauhof Casey    (38)
Emmie Aichele Dawson   (34)
Kelly Harrington Higgins    (28)
Robert D. Hill, Jr.   (30)
Karen Lilley Jeane    (1)
Rowena Macnab     (39)
Stuart Mahon Maxey     (32)
Deborah “Debbie” Hagood McCorquodale (15)
Susan Wiggins Murphy     (10)
Carl “Buddy” Pittman Parsons, Jr.   (2)
Angelyn Pippin Simmons    (6)
Kate Williams Simpson    (18)
John B. Tipton    (5) 
Sarah Oliver Warburton
Class of 2015
David Scott Adams
Courtney Camp Bowen
Steven Andrew Burns
Cyndy Craig Cantley
John Patrick Darby
Andrew Jamieson Gregory, Jr.
Sara Faucette Kinney
James Ethan McDaniel
Leigh Ann Hester Moor
Adam Graham Quarles
Nancy Hodges Riley
Kelly Roberts Sorrells
Christopher Tribble
2013 Deacon’s Standing Committees and Moderators 
Moderator:   Burch Barger
Vice-Moderator:   Buddy Parsons
Secretary:  Rowena Macnab 
Usher Captain:  Robert Hill
Independent Presbyterian Church Foundation 
Class of 2013
Stanley Allan "Stan" Cash
L. Foster Cook
Jill Verdeyen Deer
Catherine B. "Cathy"  DeLozier
Class of 2014
Edmund Rucker Agee, Jr. 
Lydia Carter Cheney
Henry Michael "Mike" Graham, Sr.
Penelope Lynn "Penney" Hartline
Donald Massey "Don" James
Class of 2015
Susan Foote "Susie" Abbott 
Sheri L. Cook
Bryson Glass Edmonds
Michael Edward "Mike" Fleenor 
Susan Nabers Haskell
Independent Presbyterian Church
STAIR of Birmingham

President                       Penney Hartline, Community Volunteer
Vice-President             Kennon Walthall, President, PRA Government Services
Treasurer                     Gene Lewis, Retired, Royal Cup Coffee,
                                                     STAIR Tutor--IPC & Norwood
Laura Clarke                      Relationship Manager, BBVA Compass
Susan Clayton                   Associate Pastor of Independent Presbyterian Church,
                                                      Community Ministries, STAIR Tutor--IPC
Melodie Echols                Executive Director, Norwood Resource Center
Maura Goodwyn              Attorney, STAIR tutor-- IPC
Charles Grizzle (Chip)        Attorney with Brasfield & Gorrie, STAIR Tutor--IPC & Washington Elem.(Westminster Pres)  
Jan Hughey                        Community Volunteer, STAIR Tutor--YWoodlawn
Lee E. Loder                       Retired/Community Organizer
Bryson Stephens              General Manager of EBSCO Sign Group
Jeannette Watford          STAIR Tutor Coordinator--Norwood
Bob Watson                        Self Employed--Net Connection, LLC.
Randall Woodfin              Prosecutor for the City of Birmingham 
2013  President of the Congregation:  Robert Pless
2013  Vice-President of the Congregation:    Jeff Grantham  (President-Elect 2014)
2013  Immediate Past President of the Congregation:  Lyda White  
Independent Presbyterian Church